women's world cup

The 2027 women’s world cup will take place in Brazil after a vote by FIFA  on Friday morning. This means that this would be the first time south America are hosting the women’s world cup.

The Brazil bid saw off a combined bid of Belgium, Germany and Netherlands . The united states and Mexico withdrew their joint bid in April, saying they will focus on bidding for the tournament in 2031. South Africa also withdrew their bid last year November.

The last years world cup that was held in Australia and new Zealand, saw a record of 1.98 million fans attend, with 75,784 present on the final day between Spain and England.

The 2027 edition will be the tenth edition of the FIFA Women’s world cup, with China, Sweden, USA, Germany, Canada and France all having hosted on at least one occasion prior to the 2023 event.

Spain are the current FIFA women’s world cup holders, joining USA  ( four titles), Germany ( two titles), Japan and Norway as the nations who have lifted the much – coveted trophy.

The tournament will follow the same 32 teams format that was used in last year’s edition.

Also Read:Inter-Miami Draws After Playing Without Messi

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *