Nomination of 9 UDA MCAs in  Uasin Gishu County was on Wednesday revoked by the Court of Appeal.

The MCAs had moved to court of Appeal in September 2023, after the High Court dismissed their appeal and upheld a lower court’s ruling that they had been invalidly nominated.

Chief Magistrate Dennis Mikoyan had on March 2023 revoked their nominations stating that UDA relied on a list that had been declared null and void by the political party’s tribunal and terming it illegal.

Mikoyan’s judgement followed a case in which two petitioners, Celestine Mutai and Robert Kiptanui had filed against the UDA party and the electoral body IEBC seeking the revocation of the nine nominations.

The Court of Appeal ordered the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission to de-gazette their names within 14 days.

Upholding the ruling made by the two previous courts, Judge Reuben Nyakundi ordered the MCAs to vacate their positions immediately. UDA party did not indicate if it would seek to appeal the ruling at the supreme court.

“The names of the nine affected persons as members of the Uasin Gishu County Assembly under the special category and the gender top-up list are deleted,” Judge Nyakundi ruled.

United Democratic Alliance Official revealed that the legal team of the ruling party had received the orders.

” It is confirmed. The court of appeal has overturned the other nine and asked IEBC to proceed and gazette the other names,” UDA official added.

Caroline Jeptanui,Cherono Caroline, Tirop Everline,Rebecca Jerop will now be gazetted by the IEBC under the gender top-up list. Other candidates who will be now nominate as MCAs under the category include Celestine Mutai, Burgei Veronica, Sharon Jewel, Pamela Ngetich and Serem Naomi.

Also, in the list of nominated MCAs under special category will be Regina Chumba, Robert Kiptanui, Gerald Kiplagat and Tabitha Wambui



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *